Fabulously Fierce Factor #2a-Creating the Vision

Where we left off…

This week, I was reminded how much we all need feedback.  Sometimes, we think of feedback negatively because we associate it either with grades/report cards or an often-dreaded performance review from work.  Either way, one thing that I learned as an Associate in The Partnership Inc. (which is probably where my hunger for feedback began), feedback is just someone else’s assessment of where we stand as an individual or in comparison to others in a group.

At the end of the day, it’s just information.  We can actually choose whether to do something with it or not.  Either way, it’s something we need in order to determine if how we perceive ourselves is actually vibing with the way we want others to perceive us.  That being said, I’m so grateful for your direct emails, texts, Facebook messages and calls sharing your thoughts on my commentary so far.  My friend, Dionna Woodard (remember that name because you’ll be shopping her shoe line some day….DSW ain’t seen nothing yet:) ) made my day when she said that as she was reading livingfabulouslyfierce, she thought “this is so Farah, I love it.”  That feedback actually made me feel like I know what Mr. James feels when he is on the court, just meeting expectations all around!

disclaimer: I AM NOT A HEAT FAN, but I give talent respect when due and Lebron James has earned respect as an athletic freak of nature. #CELTICSALLDAYEVERYDAY!!!!!!

So, to all, a huge thanks and definitely keep the feedback coming-positive and not so positive/constructive.  This is as much your space as it is mine.  What do we all want to bring to this party?  Let me know your thoughts!

Rolling Rolling Rolling…

Living Fabulously Fierce Factor #2a: Creating the Vision.

Continuing our conversation around vision and how we really need to be intentional about it, if you came into my office, you would actually see a few vision boards.  I really do believe in creating visuals of what you want to see manifested in your life.  It ties directly to the notion that if you can see it, you can achieve it.  Pulling your vision from your thoughts, ideas, and imagination into something you can hold and see really does wonders for getting you to focus.

When D said “this is so Farah”, she reminded me that all I ever really try to do is live as my own namesake.  All that means is this: I know the meaning of my name, it’s a powerful meaning, one that I can own, make my own, and actually love living up to.  So, a quick lesson:

Farah is an Arabic name which translates to joy.  It’s been a few years now since I actually looked up the definition, wrote it out and then looked to the definition of joy to determine what it all really means.  Taking it a bit further, joy is defined as

  • an intense and especially ecstatic or exultant happiness
  • the expression or manifestation of such a feeling
  • a source or an object of pleasure or satisfaction

What’s really interesting is that in all of my travels, even in and around my own hometown, I run into people who have shared their understanding of the definition of my name based on their own culture.  From a gentleman in Dubai sharing with me that it means wedding and great celebration (then offering me 10 camels!) to a concierge in Paris telling me it means ‘the choice’ (I learned his name meant the ‘father of the nations’….you can imagine the conversation ‘the choice’ and the ‘fatherof all nations’ had in the lobby of this Paris hotel!), I have learned that if my vision simply remains tied to who I am, I’ll have a truly unique vision to live up to and really make a difference in this world by doing so.

So, my process of creating my vision really started with a depiction of words…pictures are being added as I collect a few magazines.  I’m more than happy to share what I pulled together in my journal but I learned that this medium, WordPress, doesn’t yet allow uploads of images.  That being said, until I switch over, I’ll show you mine if you show me yours….Shoot me an email with your depictions and I’ll be more than happy to do the same.

To help you visualize it for now, basically I put my name in the center of the page as Farah=Joy and all around that are the definitions of my name that I’ve picked up.  From those definitions are deeper definitions and more specifics around what each “looks” like in my vision.  For example following the “path” below:

Farah=Joy==> Good-Looking==>Strong Branded==>Fabulously Fierce==>Admirable Presence==>Public Speaker

Ok, if you insist :)…here’s another….

Farah=Joy==>Light for others==>Christian==>Example of Christ==>Missionary

I have a whole lot more…as you can imagine, but this is just the beginning.  As you take another look at yours or as you begin your own, here’s a tip…Start really high level with your vision and just make sure that wherever it lands, it’s with you being more concrete.  Make it something that you can actually see, touch, feel, experience.  Also, keep in mind, that I started off with my name because it really helped me, but you start wherever you would like.  For example, and I’m totally putting her on the spot (out of love :)) but Dionna could go ahead and pick up some of her designs for the shoes she’s pulling together and place them on a large poster board, then have cut out images of exactly where she wants her shoes to be displayed, who she wants wearing them, how that will build her fortune for the mansion that she will own, what that mansion will look like…. and we could go on and on but you get the gist.

Truth…Dare….

Sometimes the challenge with creating our vision is that we actually limit ourselves by what we can see and afford in the here and now.  We don’t actually dare ourselves to go outside of our own limitations.  So, this week, I’m inviting you into a round of truth AND dare with me.

In terms of truth, this week, I’m asking you to be true to you and take as least 15 minutes to either create or revisit your vision board, whatever form you put it in, and just build…actually create the depiction.

Dare?  Dare to dream big…take the scales off the eyes of your imagination and build grand.  Notice, I didn’t say big…it’s not about size, it’s about what will position you to come full focus on who you are meant to be…in a grand way.  I’ve never known anyone to need a butterfly to be big to capture his/her attention.  The grand flight of even a one-toned butterfly will make anyone stop for even just a moment….focus on your flight.

Let me know what you come up with.

And until we “meet” again…live fabulously fierce, however you know how!

Soundtrack of the Week: David Cook, Dream Big

Leave a Reply

