Living Fabulously Fierce Factor #47-Being Engaged

-5For those who follow me on Facebook, you saw my post this week that the more I live, the more I realize that God actually knows what He’s doing.  What was really behind this statement for me was that while I’m still waiting to achieve some of my personal and professional goals, and I wish I were closer to “getting there” than not, I’m committed to living  my life, embracing every single opportunity that brings me joy and allows me to be joy for others, understanding that while I know what I want and where I want to go and everything I want to experience, while it hasn’t all come to fruition yet, I am not going to sit back and let life pass me by.  Yup, that was the longest sentence in the history of blogs…..but I hope it was clear. Essentially, I’m going to be wholeheartedly engaged in every moment, because the sequence of the moments is my story unfolding, bit by bit, page turn by page turn, and I don’t want to rush any of it, missing any budding opportunities or necessary “chrysalizing”!

So many of us offer up more focus and energy to what’s not and what we wish would hurry up and be, that we miss the experience of the moment…the cumulative moments that create our story of life.  Ok, still not getting what I’m driving at?  Here’s what I mean….

Wishing you could just skip senior year and that graduation would just hurry up and get here….you’re not enjoying the season of ultimate flexibility in your life and doing what you want to do.

Wishing your prince charming would hurry and get here?…..you’re not seizing the opportunity to really get to know more of you and who you are, increasing your own self-awareness…and…honestly…the freedom of singlehood that many wish they could have for just a moment.

Wishing you would just be promoted to the next level in your organization?…you’re not taking the time to continue to leave your distinct mark in the position at the level at which you are currently.

In a world of next goal, next step, next accomplishment and social media that allows us to see everything everyone is doing and then evaluate what we’re doing or not doing in, we really have to be consciously intentional around allowing ourselves to blossom in our buds, develop in our cocoons, and appreciate the seasons that we will experience throughout the entire process.  Most importantly, we just have to engage in it all…being present…living, loving, embracing, and being inspired and motivated by it all. 

There really sin’t an LFF process around this that I have to share with you.  I actually just have an ask this week-homework, I guess:  Wherever you are, whatever your circumstance, no matter how far from your “target” you are, engage…commit to the rest and the resilience required in the cocoon that serves as the prerequisite to not only getting your wings, but getting the wings that you need to soar!  Engage!

Soundtrack of the Week: In the spirit of engaging in what currently is, letting it all flow as you do your part, it only seems natural to leverage The Beattles’ Let It Be.

Leave a Reply

